Santanu Borpatra Gohain Creates History

44th All Assam Inter District Chess Championship-2022

Santanu Borpatra Gohain creates a history by winning All Assam Chess Championship for the record fifth times. In the 44th All Assam Inter District Chess Championship organized by Lakhimpur District Chess Association on behalf of All Assam Chess Association at Lakhimpur Girls College, Lakhimpur, Santanu scored 7 points from possible 8 points and remains unbeaten throughout the tournament. On the way to his fifth title Santanu beat Pulin Borah in the first round. In the second round he beat former champion Mahendra Borah. In the next three rounds Santanu accounted for three promising and upcoming players of Assam Nihad Islam Hazarika, Tuhin Kashyap and Swapnaneel Dowerah and raced to take sole lead. In the sixth round Santanu was held to draw by Imtiaz Islam Borah and another former champion Iftikar Alom Mazumdar joined him in the top. In the seventh and penultimate round Santanu beat overnight joint leader Iftiakr Alom Mazumdar and extends his lead by a full point. Though in the final round Santanu was held to draw by promising youngster Abhash Romya Saikia, it could not stop him from claiming the title for the record fifth time.

Rakesh Chakraborty gave Santanu a chase for the title but his draw in the fifth round against Imtiaz Islam Bora and and loss in the sixth round against Iftiakr Alom Mazumdar held him back and finally had to settle for second position with half a point behind with 6.5 points. Imtiaz Islam Bora and Soram Rahul Singh scored 6 points each and got third and fourth position respectively. All These four players are selected to represent Assam in National Senior Championship.

Youngster Dhruv Phukan and Abhash Romya Saikia also scored creditable 6 points each and they were placed sixth and ninth position respectively. Rajidip Das, Shubhajit Dhar, Neelabh Jyoti Barthakur and Projit Phukan also scored 6 points each.

Defending champion Cheniram Pegu could not play as per his reputation and could only score 5 points only and got a dismal nineteenth position.

M Arun Singh conducted the tournament as Chief Arbiter and he was assisted by Deputy Arbiter Dipak Patgiri and Golap Chandra Gogoi.   

The tournament was organized within a short notice but organizer done a commendable job. Tournament Jitumoni Neog and his team done really good job.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s